© 2018 Quad Cities CVB
1601 River Drive, Suite 110
Moline, Illinois 61265
Address: Mound Street and 11th Street in Davenport, Iowa (off of Highway 67)
Web Site: www.villageofeastdavenport.com
Media Contact: Connie Scott, 563-322-4096or email@example.com
The Village of East Davenport invites visitors to discover the rich culture, charm and creativity of this unique, historic setting along the Mississippi River. The Village, a six-square-block district near the eastern boundary of the city of Davenport, was first established in the pre-Civil Wartime of the 1850's.
Just as the Village of yesterday, the Village of today is rich in culture and charm waiting to be discovered and appreciated by those not too busy to turn back the pages of history. The area is the second largest historic district in Iowa and features 45 wonderful shops, galleries and some of the areas best pubs and eateries. Numerous festivals and events take place there throughout the year, including a British Autofest, Village Wine Walk, and Antique Tractor Show in August; Riverssance Art Festival in September; a Fall Frolic in October; and Christmas in the Village in December.
During its fascinating and significant history, "The Village" has played host to a long list of familiar history book notables from Indian Chiefs to Presidents.
The entire Sauk and Meskwaki Nations gathered for the last time in this spot in 1836 to sign a treaty relinquishing their land forever. The great warrior Black Hawk and his followers camped on the river overlook of Lindsey Park during the treaty signing. Famed Western artist George Catlin, who came by canoe from Wisconsin to paint and sketch the Native Americans before they left their native lands, captured them on canvas.
During the 1840's, river men knew the area as "Stubbs Eddy" for the brilliant West Point Army officer, Captain James R. Stubbs. Captain Stubbs was originally stationed across the river at Fort Armstrong (now the Rock Island Arsenal), but left his Army career to seek a closer existence with nature. For eight years, Captain Stubbs became a recluse and lived in a cave in the Village with his dog, cat, and pig just below the chain of rocks scoured into the riverside cliffs below Lindsey Park. It was also the site of the Civil War Camp McClellan in 1861 and in 1862 the Camp Kearney Indian Prison.
In 1856, the first railroad bridge to span the Mississippi River was built between Davenport and Rock Island. Logs from northern forests were rafted to the sawmills of the Village and carried west as far as Denver by the new railroad. Today, the log trestle still stands in the Village as the last tangible remnant of the first railway west of the Mississippi.